meow! (splash)

I rather enjoyed this morning’s synchronised diving – it even made me late for work… and the news that the British pair came last was quite a disappointment – more so for the two divers – the older of the two ‘blamed’ his partner:

It’s a synchro team, there’s two of us, and that’s the hard thing about it,” Aldridge said. “Both of you have to be on your game at the same time and that just didn’t happen today. Thomas is 14 years old. He’s done phenomenally and for me to be a part of a partnership with him is a great thing. I knew, going into this Olympic Games, that we were capable of a medal, but I also knew that it depended on how Tom performed. I wasn’t on the top of my game, but I out-dived Thomas today and that’s not something that normally happens. That to me is because he had a lot more pressure on him than I did.

…of course blame is a rather strong choice of word for a rather eloquent explanation of how things turned out…

I feel sorry for Blake Aldridge – and it looks to me as though he wasn’t so much blaming his partner as the hype mounded on him by an over-expectant media. My disdain for the media and it’s way of ‘reporting’ things is one thing that really irritates me – though perhaps more understandable when you’re talking about the Olympics! But – while he’s the youngest of the two – it’s quite unfair that reporting – and therefore pressure – has focused so much on him, not the partnership.

Anyway, aside from the two of them I also realised that it’s a fun sport to watch, not just for the dives, but the divers too 😉
(more details on those two here and here)

4 Responses to meow! (splash)

  1. […] where on earth? Thanks to Ade for pointing out Recess Monkey’s posting on Sky News’s journalistic qualities and not actually knowing which Georgia they’re on about… It’s probably a good thing Bush doesn’t rely on Sky for his breaking news alerts otherwise he’d already be lighting the blue touchpaper and aiming his nukes at Moscow if he thought the Russians had invaded *that* Georgia… We can add this to the same list as the ‘Tiananmen Square Massacre Remembered’ by Yahoo… No wonder I hold the media in disdain… […]

  2. […] from a Guardian Comment is Free blogger* for Tom Daley and Blake Aldridge following their little spat yesterday: …hang on a minute. You’re eighth in the world at a sport! Admittedly, a […]

  3. […] it I realised that it’s not just because he’s a good looking diver, like the others I’ve mentioned. He’s also gay and came out publicly in Australia this […]

  4. […] about diving until two weeks ago when the media-overhyped and pressurised British 14 year old was diving. But as time went on my interest grew, for obvious reasons, and because I realised what a technical […]

Leave a Reply

